Chandigarh Municipal Corporation Polls: BJP And Akali Dal Alliance Scores A Landslide Win!


Bhartya Janta Party ( BJP ) and SAD alliance scores a landslide win in Chandigarh MC polls on Tuesday. The victory is important as it comes just ahead of crucial state assembly polls. The allies have won 21 of the 26 seats, while the Congress managed just four; one seat was won by an independent candidate. As every poll win after 8 November is an approval of the people for the demonetisation decision.

Prominent among those who won were BJP Mayor Arun Sood and Congress stalwart Devinder Singh Babla. The overall polling percentage in the election was 59.54 per cent.

A total of 122 candidates, including 67 Independents, contested. The total number of voters were 5,07,627, including 2,37,374 women.

Both the Congress and BJP contested all 26 wards, while the BSP put up its candidates on 17 wards.

The MC has 36 members of which 26 are elected councillors, nine nominated and one is an MP (ex-officio member of the House).

In the last House, the BJP had 15 councillors, Congress nine, BSP one and one was Independent.


Ward 1: Former Deputy Mayor and Congress candidate Harmohinder Singh Lucky loses by 280 votes to arch rival BJP Mahesh Inder Sidhu.

Ward 2: BJP’s former mayor Rajbala Malik wins by 960 votes.

Ward 3: Major jolt to the Congress, city chief Pardeep Chhabra’s wife Ritu Chhabra loses to the BJP nominee Ravi Kant Sharma.

Ward 4: Congress heavyweight and former mayor Poonam Sharma loses to BJP’s Sunita Dhawan.

Ward 5: Congress candidate Sheela Devi wins.

Ward 6: BJP’s Farmila Devi wins.

Ward 7: Congress former mayor Harphool Kalyan loses to BJP’s Rajesh Kalia.

Ward 8:  BJP Mayor Arun Sood wins by over 1,900 votes.

Ward 9: Congress former deputy mayor Gurbax Rawat wins by over 2,000 votes.

Ward 10: SAD opens account; deputy mayor Hardeep Singh wins by 3,500 votes.

Ward 11: BJP candidate Satish Kainth wins by over 1,000 votes.

Ward 12: BJP candidate Chandrawati Shukla wins by 800 votes.

Ward 13: BJP’s former senior deputy mayor Heera Negi wins by 1,600 votes.

Ward 14: 
BJP’s Kanwarjeet Singh Rana wins.

Ward 15: Congress candidate Ravinder Kaur Gujral wins.

Ward 16: Congress former mayor Subhash Chawla loses to BJP’s Rajesh Kumar Gupta by 1,013 votes.

Ward 17: BJP’s Asha Jaswal wins.

Ward 18: 
Congress heavyweight Davinder Babla wins, BJP’s Saurabh Joshi loses.

Ward 19: 
BJP rebel Dalip Sharma wins as Independent.

Ward 20: Shakti Prakash Devshali wins, defeats Congress nominee Shashi Shankar Tiwari by 810 votes.

Ward 21:  BJP candidate Gurpreet Dhillon wins. He defeated Congress nominee Jatinder Bhatia. Dhillon, former city BJYM president.
Ward 22: BJP senior deputy mayor Davesh Moudgil wins by over 2,500 votes.

Ward 23: Congress former mayor Kamlesh loses to Bharat Kumar of the BJP.

Ward 24:  Anil Dubey of BJP wins by 5,000 votes.

Ward 25: BJP’s Jagtar Singh wins by over 6,500 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *